Workshop “Towards Exascale HPC systems”

Co-design and Technology development within the EuroEXA, ExaNeSt, ExaNoDe and EcoScale projects.

Thursday 31 May 2018, 14:30 – 18:30, co-located with the European HPC Summit Week 2018, Ljubljana, Slovenia


Download agenda as PDF

Employing co-design to ensure technology developments that address the complete computing platform, the 4 projects address low-power, scalable and heterogeneous compute to meet the demands of Exascale computing. EuroEXA leads the System Software and Programming Environment activity, ExaNeSt develops innovative interconnects, storage, and packaging/cooling technologies. EcoScale focuses on integrating the acceleration capabilities of FPGAs. ExaNoDe develops heterogeneous, interposer-based, System-on-a-Chip (SoC) architectures and systems software and programming environments for compute node.

This Workshop will present results from the four projects.

Session 1:
Novel, Unified and Reconfigurable Accelerators: Applications, Tools, System SW and HW

  • 14:30 FPGA Acceleration of Weather Forecast Workloads in the EuroEXA Project Using Vivado HLS (Mike Ashworth; University of Manchester)
  • 15:00 Virtualization technologies in modern HPC systems   (Radoslav Dimitrov, Kevin Pouget ; Virtual Open Systems)
  • 15:30 Resource Elastic Scheduling for FPGAs using OpenCL  (Dirk Koch; University of Manchester)
  • 16:00 Task-based parallelism for efficient cluster programming  (Paul Carpenter, Babis Chalios;  BSC)
  • 16:30 Coffee break      

Session 2:
EuroEXA, ExaNeSt, ExaNoDe and EcoScale: System Prototypes and HW developments

  • 17:00 Reliable Communication in Networks of FPGAs    (Joshua Lant; University of Manchester)
  • 17:30 A Flexible & Efficient Shared Memory Abstraction with Minimal HW Assistance   (Nikolaos D. Kallimani;  FORTH-ICS)
  • 18:00 Odd-ECC: On-demand DRAM Error Correcting Codes   (Ioannis Sourdis; Chalmers )
  • 18:30 End of workshop      

Organizing Committee:      

  • Eduard Ayguadé, Barcelona Supercomputing Center and Univ. Politècnica de Catalunya
  • Luca Benini, ETH Zurich
  • Denis Dutoit, CEA, France
  • Georgios Goumas, Techn. Univ. of Athens / Inst. of Commun. & Computer Systems
  • Manolis Katevenis, FORTH and University of Crete
  • Luciano Lavagno, Politecnico di Torino
  • Mikel Luján, University of Manchester
  • Iakovos Mavroidis, Technical University of Crete / Telecommunication Systems Institute

Main Organizer:
Denis Dutoit, CEA